The Girl Outdoors Book Review [+ Win a copy!]

The Girl Outdoors Book Review [+ Win a copy!]

Having met Sian Anna Lewis several times at past travel and blogging events, I was very excited to get my hands on a copy of her new – and first – book, The Girl Outdoors. Whenever you talk to her you can’t help but be enthused by her passion for adventure, especially when she shares tales of winter surfing or camping on the side of a cliff!

Even so, being more of a fan of spas than wild swimming, I wasn’t sure how much this book would appeal to me, but I was very pleasantly surprised. To be honest I don’t think I can describe this book better than its cover into: The Girl Outdoors is an adventurous best mate in book form.

Making outdoors accessible to all

It’s just as easy to pick up and flick through as it is to read from cover to cover, and the thing that I loved more than anything is that Sian makes the whole idea of getting more ‘outdoorsy’ really accessible. There’s something in here that will appeal to everyone, whether you’re already an avid fan of the outdoors or would love to do more things out in the country.

There’s sections dedicated a variety of active outdoor sports from surfing and SUP-ing (stand-up paddleboarding for those not ‘in the know’) through to mountain biking and snowboarding, plus useful guides to the best equipment for each sport and top tips – like how to change an inner tube and the best way to wax a surfboard. Sian also offers up some destination ideas for each of the sports she covers.

But what I really enjoyed was the idea that, overall, this book is a great guide to simply getting off the couch and into the wild.

UKBA

The Girl Outdoors Book Review

Inspiring ideas

You see, as well as the sports aspect, this book is all about inspiring you to make the most of the great outdoors. Sian shares her tips on wild camping and road tripping, offers up some surprisingly appealing campfire recipes and crafty ideas and even invites you to hold your own mini festival! She’s all about inspiring and supporting you – this is a book for anyone who’s up for trying something new and having a huge laugh while you do it.

There really is something for everyone in this book and I think it’s a great way to introduce someone to what the great outdoors has to offer. I dare you to read this book and not feel inspired to put on some walking boots, start making your own sloe gin or book a glamping trip!

The Girl Outdoors Book Review

Win a copy of The Girl Outdoors!

Have we piqued your interest with our book review? Well we’ve got two copies of The Girl Outdoors by Sian Anna Lewis up for grabs in our latest competition.

To enter, simply use the Rafflecopter widget below to follow Ladies What Travel on Twitter.  Entrants must be over 18. The competition closes at 00:00 on Monday 16th April.  Full T&Cs can be found in the rafflecopter widget. Good luck!

 

a Rafflecopter giveaway

 

Pin me!

The Girl Outdoors Book Review

T ravel Loving Family
Hilarystyle

 

Follow:
Keri

By day Co-Editor Keri is a freelance journalist and copywriter, but spends most of her free time either travelling or planning her next trip!  A complete travel fanatic, she has a love of tropical climates, wildlife and afternoon tea (hence the creation of her Global Afternoon Tea Challenge!)

Find me on: Web

Share this:

44 Comments

  1. April 9, 2018 / 4:17 pm

    You’ve convinced me. Sounds like a practical book of fun! Entering the raffle right now…. #MondayEscapes

    • Keri
      Author
      April 15, 2018 / 11:11 am

      Good luck!

  2. Katie Parsons
    April 9, 2018 / 8:05 pm

    Just reading through your posts reminds me of my travelling days pre children and I can literally breathe in the freedom… a breath of fresh air and positive role models for my daughter!! Well done

    • Keri
      Author
      April 15, 2018 / 11:12 am

      aww thank you !

  3. Rachel Craig
    April 9, 2018 / 9:20 pm

    Great prize. Please consider allowing competition entry via e-mail, blog comment, etc.

  4. April 9, 2018 / 9:54 pm

    This is music to my ears! I am a huge fan of getting outdoors from an early age and experiencing the countryside. #MondayEscapes

    • Keri
      Author
      April 15, 2018 / 11:13 am

      Lovely to hear – Im going to try to get out more myself.

  5. Margaret Clarkson
    April 10, 2018 / 6:30 am

    I liked reading about Iceland, it is somewhere I’ve wanted to visit for some time. Thank you.

    • Keri
      Author
      April 15, 2018 / 11:14 am

      Hope you get to go Margaret!

  6. April 10, 2018 / 8:28 am

    That’s what i like seeing spring-summer on it’s way. going around the Scottish Highlands
    enjoying the great outdoors

    • Keri
      Author
      April 15, 2018 / 11:14 am

      Ah that’s an area Im still to explore!

  7. Karen Richards
    April 10, 2018 / 4:25 pm

    Enjoyed reading about part time travel. It’s made me realise how much I can travel and I will. Really motivated me.

    • Keri
      Author
      April 15, 2018 / 11:16 am

      That’s so lovely to hear Karen! Do let us know what you get up to, we’d love to find out!

  8. April 11, 2018 / 8:05 am

    This is right up my street!! I love the outdoors but sometimes find myself talking myself out of adventures…I need that push to just get out there! Have entered your comp too! #MondayEscapes

    • Keri
      Author
      April 15, 2018 / 11:17 am

      You go for it Zoe, hope you get out there more!

  9. April 11, 2018 / 7:20 pm

    I like the idea of holding my own mini-festival haha probably an afternoon tea festival haha #WanderfulWednesday

    • Keri
      Author
      April 15, 2018 / 11:17 am

      Totally sounds like my kind of festival! Count me in 😉

  10. April 11, 2018 / 11:54 pm

    This looks like such a fantastic book and I have heard some really good things about it so far. Great giveaway, fingers and toes crossed

    Laura x

  11. April 12, 2018 / 10:37 am

    You had me at ‘girl’ and ‘outdoors’. I love finding even more ‘outside’ inspiration and any excuse to get out and enjoy the world 🙂 Looks like a good read!

    • Keri
      Author
      April 15, 2018 / 11:18 am

      This will definitely give you some great ideas Cynthia!

  12. April 12, 2018 / 4:48 pm

    Love this inspiring idea for a book! Wherever I go, even if it’s a city full of buildings, I’m antsy until I can get outside. I want to walk and breathe in the fresh air and explore. And hiking is my happy place!

    • Keri
      Author
      April 15, 2018 / 11:18 am

      I’d love to be able to hike but sadly bad health stops me, still I def plan to push myself and try and get outdoors more

  13. April 12, 2018 / 7:07 pm

    Looks like a fun book especially for those of us who enjoy travel and adventure! Thank you for sharing on #farawayfiles

    • Keri
      Author
      April 15, 2018 / 11:20 am

      our pleasure!

  14. April 12, 2018 / 8:12 pm

    Sounds like a fab book its great to get inspiration from others isnt it? Thanks so much for linking up #MondayEscapes x

  15. lynn neal
    April 13, 2018 / 7:11 am

    Looks an interesting read!

    • Keri
      Author
      April 15, 2018 / 11:20 am

      It really is!

  16. Lorna Roberts
    April 13, 2018 / 5:29 pm

    It sounds great. I’ve travelled a fair bit already but generally abroad. I hope this inspires me to have more adventures.

    • Keri
      Author
      April 15, 2018 / 11:21 am

      Its easy to forget how many great places we have on our doorstep isn’t it! I am trying to visit local places too

  17. Tiff Jordan
    April 14, 2018 / 11:30 am

    Looks like a truly inspiring and positive book!

    • Keri
      Author
      April 15, 2018 / 11:22 am

      It is!

  18. Sue Bebbington
    April 14, 2018 / 6:48 pm

    Loved the article on Japan. It’s a place that is on my bucket list and even more so, after reading the information on it

    • Keri
      Author
      April 15, 2018 / 11:23 am

      I hope you get to go Sue, its a really amazing country.

  19. April 15, 2018 / 3:31 am

    Ok I entered! I am such an outdoorsy girl that I know I’d live this book. Thanks for sharing with #farawayfiles

    • Keri
      Author
      April 15, 2018 / 11:23 am

      Pleasure!

  20. Emma Davenport
    April 15, 2018 / 11:05 am

    Looks like a great book… x

    • Keri
      Author
      April 15, 2018 / 11:23 am

      It really is Emma, very inspirational!

  21. stephanie
    April 15, 2018 / 2:18 pm

    amazing

  22. Helen Reed
    April 15, 2018 / 5:29 pm

    This looks like a fab read!!! 🙂

  23. April 15, 2018 / 7:02 pm

    Yay, living the dream, enjoy! I will be there with you once the little ones have grown!

  24. Karen Walder
    April 15, 2018 / 7:20 pm

    Reading your articles on Italy has really put me in the notion for a city break……..trying to decide where to go is the problem!

  25. natalie crossan
    April 15, 2018 / 9:32 pm

    What an inspirational book 🙂 xxx

  26. Living in the city in an apartment I find I crave the outdoors more when it isn’t right in my backyard. Will definitely put this book on my reading list! Thanks for sharing with #FarawayFiles, Erin

    • Keri
      Author
      May 12, 2018 / 2:31 pm

      Hope you enjoy it! x

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.